March 16

Walk a Lap

March Slice Challenge #15
20150316_143257

By the start of Block 4/8 today, I had a bad headache. I was tired from the weekend and from using my brain so much for the first 3 blocks of the day. So I decided that if our class behaved for the first 20 minute assignment, then we could go outside and get some fresh air. Thankfully, everyone was on task and we lined up to take a walk outdoors. It was sunny and bright. The air was cool with a slight breeze. The plan was to walk a brisk lap around the track to wake ourselves up and stretch our legs. I figured if I got the oxygen pumping, my headache would ease, too. The PE classes were using the track so we kept walking. 

We walked around the gym and side of the school. We paused for a minute at the beautiful memorial set up for Gavin Rupp and Nicole Abi-Naim. I explained to the students that Gavin was in my class when he was in sixth grade (2011-12). I didn’t know Nicole but I know she was also a student here at Eagle Ridge, so we paid our respects.

I think the memorial is a wonderful way to remember these students. It’s very difficult to think about how young Gavin and Nicole were when they left us, but seeing their memorial at school helps me remember what’s important in life. The quotes beneath their names are almost like them giving us advice and wisdom. Gavin’s quote reads, “There is no footprint too small to leave an imprint on this world.” How true! Our actions make a difference. I hope I am always careful to leave behind the kind of footprint that shows that I was kind and helpful to others. The idea of leaving behind footprints also reminds me of a quote I’ve heard before about leaving footprints on a person’s heart. Gavin Rupp definitely left footprints on my heart. I think of him often. I am glad I got the chance to know him and read his writing. He used his writing in class to share his love of baseball, friends, and family. Gavin, you are missed.

Nicole’s stone has a quote that reads: “The only way to have a friend is to be one (Emerson).” I see that every day here in the middle school setting. I really like it when I witness students being friendly to each other even if they don’t hang out with them out20150316_143305side of school or sit with them at lunch. You can still be kind and respectful and friendly to others even if you wouldn’t call them a close friend. I’m grateful that Nicole was that kind of person. I’ve talked to teachers here that knew her and they said she embodied that quote.

I timed our walk and the entire time we spent outdoors was about 10 minutes. It definitely helped lessen my headache, and it energized our class. We were able to grab a quick drink of water at the fountain and continue drafting, revising, and editing our research papers. Most importantly, our walk gave me the chance to remember some special students.

Thank you for the walk Block 4/8 and I hope we can do this again sometime. 

20150316_143309


Posted March 16, 2015 by Mrs. O'Brien in category March 2015 Slice of Life Challange

About the Author

Greetings! I'm Mrs. O'Brien! I teach sixth grade language arts for Loudoun County Public Schools in Northern Virginia. This is the classroom blog I created to share all of the fabulous things the students do in class with their parents, teachers, other students, and the entire blogosphere!

1 thoughts on “Walk a Lap

  1. Ms. Haseltine

    I love that you listened to your headache and took care of yourself and in doing that you and your students spent some valuable time outside and remembering some of our wonderful students. What a way to spend a day! You are a wonderful teacher!

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*