February 27

5 Minute Friday

Today’s Word: Hullabaloo

What a fantastic-sounding word! HULLABALOO! It sounds like what it means to me which is a commotion or fuss. So doesn’t that make it onomatopoeia? I’m not sure. But I do know that when I assigned this as the word for 5 minute Friday, there was a great HULLABALOO! Students were shouting that they had never heard of this word and what would they write? So I pulled up Dictionary.com and copied/pasted the following:

noun
informal
noun: hullabaloo; plural noun: hullabaloos
  1. a commotion; a fuss.
    “remember all the hullabaloo over the golf ball?”
    synonyms: fuss, commotion, hue and cry, uproar, outcry, clamor, storm, furor,hubbub, ruckus, brouhaha; More

    It took them a long time to get settled. And then after the hullaballoo dissipated, there was some sort of hullabaloo next door! It sounded like the Promethean Board was playing a hullaballoo-of-a-song.

    Is there an adjective form to the word hullabaloo? Can something be hullabalooiful or hullabalooious?
    Haha. I guess I can coin a new word from hullabaloo if I want. The word reminds me of that character from A Jungle Book…the bear…Baloo! Like, if his last name was Baloo that would have been cool because then his first name could have been Hulla. Get it?!

    My Top 10 Places Full of Hullabaloo:

    1. The locker area. Ugh.

    2. The cafeteria. Double Ugh.

    3. The hallway after lunch when students are lined up outside of their teacher’s doors.

    4. Block 2 right now while I’m trying to think of my top 10.

    5. Pep rallies! I love the hullabaloo of a high school pep rally.

    6. A sporting event! The hullabaloo of a boxing match features boos and cheers. The hullabaloo of a baseball game includes shouts for “Popcorn! Cold soda!”

    7. My son playing with his 2 cousins. Now THAT’S a hullabaloo.

    8. Telling my 2-year-old son, “No, you may not have that candy.” That creates a hullabaloo.

    9. The gym before school where the sixth grade congregates.

    10. The people on Facebook when there is a forecast of snow. Wow! What a hullabaloo!


Posted February 27, 2015 by Mrs. O'Brien in category Uncategorized

About the Author

Greetings! I'm Mrs. O'Brien! I teach sixth grade language arts for Loudoun County Public Schools in Northern Virginia. This is the classroom blog I created to share all of the fabulous things the students do in class with their parents, teachers, other students, and the entire blogosphere!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*