March 22

Crashing & a Safe Place to Land

crash

image from GoodReads.com

March Slice Challenge #18
I finished reading Crash by Jerry Spinelli yesterday and I definitely felt like crying when I read the last page. Not sad-crying, but poignant-crying. I was touched by this book. I thought a lot about the main character, Crash Coogan, and how much he changed throughout the course of the book. I liked the ending a lot but of course I won’t give anything away on here. 

Something I noticed in the story that I felt like writing about was safe places. There are certain people (and places) you just feel safe being around. For Crash, he felt safe when he was around Scooter, especially curled up beside him hearing his life’s stories. One always fears losing their safe person or safe place and I’m no exception to that. When I lost my father to cancer, I lost my safe person. I didn’t think the world would ever be the same. And it hasn’t. But just like Crash learns, there is great personal growth when something happens that changes your idea of a safe place. I’m stronger now in different ways and I’ve had to shift where I find my strength. Anyway, it’s a beautiful story and I can’t wait to hear about what you think when you finish it. 


Posted March 22, 2015 by Mrs. O'Brien in category March 2015 Slice of Life Challange

About the Author

Greetings! I'm Mrs. O'Brien! I teach sixth grade language arts for Loudoun County Public Schools in Northern Virginia. This is the classroom blog I created to share all of the fabulous things the students do in class with their parents, teachers, other students, and the entire blogosphere!

2 thoughts on “Crashing & a Safe Place to Land

  1. Ms. Banks

    One of my favorite books! I used parts of that book to help students remember tidbits of information in History 6.

    Your words about losing the safe place are so true. I still feel lost after losing my Dad. He was my safe place. I learned and felt so much from reading this book, that years later those lessons are still close to my heart.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*